Game 41: Flames @ Oilers

13 Apr

20130411-074600.jpg
So we didnt trade this guy…why?

I cant lie. I’m not in Edmonton right now and my ability to watch tonight’s game is in Jeopardy.

No, its not because years of abuse and being taken for granted by the Oilers has finally broken me and I cant watch meaningless games. Its because I’m at a Stag in Vernon for the weekend and I’m deep in Canuck territory. I want to watch this game but I’m probably really drunk, getting shot at with paint balls, playing poker, or looking at naked ladies right now. So…yeah.

Nonetheless, this game doesnt matter outside of BOA bragging rights, which by calculations belong to the Oilers for the foreseeable future.

Oilers Keys to the Game
1) 17%
Counting this game 17 percent of the Oilers’ scheduled games will be meaningless. Completely meaningless. This was a season where the supposed goal was Meaningful games. For roughly 24 hours in March the Oilers were in 8th place, does that count? Fucked if I know.

2) New Leadership
From the player level to the management level this club needs new leadership. The Old Guard is not getting it done. The Veterans arent bringing it. The Management that got the Oilers in this mess was allowed too long to try and fix it. It is not working and Oilers fans deserve better. This is Hall, Eberle, Gagner, Nuge, and Yak’s team. This isnt Horcoff, Hemsky, and Smyth’s team (and I like those guys!).

3) Just Kick the Shit Out of Calgary
This game is between two non-playoff teams. It doesnt matter and winning hurts more than helps right now, but fuck Calgary. Remind Kiprusoff why he wants to tuck tail and run after this season. Show them up on National TV. Its the least you could do.

Puck Drops at 8:08 PM Mountain Time on CBC. Game On!

2 Responses to “Game 41: Flames @ Oilers”

  1. flames for life April 14, 2013 at 12:55 am #

    Chicken shit coward!
    Write your post BEFORE the game eh………
    I was really looking forward to the second edition of “open letter to flames fans”

    You would think after 3 first overall picks in a row, you would be a little more humble….. deutsche bag!

    • archaeologuy April 15, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

      Thats not really how you spell douchebag, but I would love for you to explain to me how I offended your delicate sensibilities. The Oilers are a hot mess. I never, not even once, said they were amazing or doing things the right way.

      I dont need to write a second open letter. The first will stand up fine on its own.

Leave a Reply

